Om Shanti Shanti Shanti

Hi everyone! 

I’ve decided since I can’t find a job, I’ll just become a yogi! My neck muscles are still so stiff!! I can finally look over my shoulder behind myself. 

In my quest to become a yoga master, I discovered a coupon in a student hand out for Bikram yoga! sure, why not? But let me tell you. You can not just walk into a class, it is no ordinary yoga class. You have to make sure you drink at least 6 cups of water up to an hour before the class, make sure you eat well but not too much, and bring a sweat towel (not a hand towel, a beach towel because we sweat unbelievable amounts). The instructor was drill sergeant! There is not resting in that class. The poses are crazy! I thought I was doing pretty well until I looked up the real poses. The heat is kind of overwhelming if you’ve never exercised in 100 degrees before (thats not an exaggeration). But all in all, I’ve gone to two classes and hope I can go to more!

Image

Standing head to knee pose or Dandayamana Janushirasana

I’ve also bend attending classes at a yoga studio downtown that are less intense and less hot. They have different instructors for all types of classes. I like this one they have at 8:30am on Saturdays for runners. It’s like she knows EXACTLY where my body hurts and we stretch it all out! It’s wonderful! I do notice one draw back to all my yoga- my lower back hurts!! Everyone always does all this core stuff, but I guess I’ve been neglecting my lower back. Ouuucchhh!

Running is going well too! It’s finally not frigid out. This morning I ran 5.97 miles in 1 hour and 1 minute! I feel like a dork because I have this awesome new running app on my phone that I love using! It’s called RunKeeper and it has a GPS that tracks your run, but it also has a lady who comes on every 5 minutes and tell you your: time, distance, and average pace. Its so cool! 

Image

Hope everyone is doing well! 

4 thoughts on “Om Shanti Shanti Shanti

  1. That app looks awesome! I want to try it when I’m able to run again! Going to the gym is rough. But I’m worried because I want a brace so I don’t hurt myself.

    I’m so glad youre starting to run again! Those yoga classes seem cool!

  2. I’m taking yoga in FL. I love it!! the best thing is, it is for old people and my instructor is so kind. He say ” some of you will do this (he shows the position) and some of you can modify it like this (he shows the modification) but some of you may not. sometimes I’m in the may not group, like rolling on my back in a ball. I’ve been trying to run a little with Layla but my foot arthritis is very painful. I hope 4 on the 4th I can walk really really fast! lol Love you sweetie!

Leave a Reply

