The Final Hours of 2013

Today is the last day of 2013!

I haven’t been up to much since my last post, just resting from the chaos that is finals week and being a snowboarding bum at Stowe.

Image

I went in for a little blood test to check my T3 and T4 levels. The results show that the dosage I am currently on is working for my Thyroid Stimulating Hormone suppressive therapy. I feel fine too. Up next is the 6 month check-in to see if the treatment has worked.

My mom was asking if the myth “cancer and sugar intake are positively correlated” was true or not. I investigated and found from the Mayo Clinic Website that this is indeed false (thank goodness!). “Sugar doesn’t make cancer grow faster. All cells, including cancer cells, depend on blood sugar (glucose) for energy. But giving more sugar to cancer cells doesn’t speed their growth. Likewise, depriving cancer cells of sugar doesn’t slow their growth.This misconception may be based in part on a misunderstanding of PET scans, which use a small amount of radioactive tracer — typically a form of glucose. All tissues in your body absorb some of this tracer, but tissues that are using more energy — including cancer cells — absorb greater amounts. For this reason, some people have concluded that cancer cells grow faster on sugar. But this isn’t true.” Learning something new everyday!

The website also has the myth “Good people don’t get cancer”. Evidently, this too is a false statement.

I received a card from my cousin Ross, and out of all the wonderful letters and gifts from everyone being so supportive, I think this one takes the cake. I loved it so much wanted to share a little excerpt:

I am not entirely sure of the purpose of this card, I was hoping to provide some thoughtful words, words of advice, words of encouragement, however I believe it to be tenuous to give advice concerning a situation they have no personal experience with… The way in which you have handled your cancer, with class, dignity, and outright courage becomes an agent of impact. Very few people have the where-with-all to notice this and do something about it. But you have embraced this challenge and transformed whatever negatives into positives, easy to say but very tough to do, and that speaks volumes about the class of character that you have become.

Ross, I think this little card is something I will cherish forever. I just wanted to share this with everyone because it is so kind and lovely. I truly appreciate you making smile everytime I read this.

Christmas was fun! Santa got me some good stuff. The following day most of the Morgan family (as well as some Sennotts) went to my Uncle Paul and Aunt Lori’s house for my Uncle Walter’s surprise party. Although we were missing a few people, it was nice to have almost all of the Super 8’s gathered together reminiscing.

Then off to Maine! Shawnee Peak has some surprisingly decent snow, but the slopes were packed! Meghan and I went mid-day Saturday and did about 8 runs. Cara and I went in the morning and did about 10 runs. We left right before the snow storm and missed all the fresh powder!

Image

Some Jack Sprat action!

Running is going well. The race I want to sign up for opens January 13 (which is also the first day of classes). I think that’ll give me enough time to see if I can stick to my running schedule. I ran 5.6 miles in 57 minutes with Coach John following me on the bike and I think I did pretty well- considering I conquered the Hollis St. hill!

I was just looking through my Facebook pictures of the past year and here are some of the big things that have happened:

  • I went boarding at Stowe
  • Turned over a new leaf after ending a long relationship
  • Successfully celebrated Saint Patrick’s Day
  • Saw MGMT
  • Got a tattoo
  • Ran my first half marathon in 2 hours and 30 minutes (on the dot)
  • Watched my brother graduate from college with a Psych major
  • Ran the Bridgeton 4 on the 4th
  • Had yet another wonderful session at Camp Sunshine with new and old friends
  • Added some new members to my extended family (I think we are well past 80 people now!)
  • Had my first major surgery
  • Began my senior year
  • Survived my 5 days of isolation
  • Saw Joshua Radin and Matt Nathanson
  • Ran a 5k Turkey Trot
  • Watched one of my best friend’s graduate college early
  • Did more boarding at Stowe

This year was the “Year of Growth”. I am definitely not the same person who first who arrived at Wright freshman year second semester, and even the girl who moved into 217 South Union St. in the spring of 2012.

New Years resolution time! As I have begun to find out, cancer is a bullshit detector. If people don’t change before a cancer diagnosis, don’t expect something like this to motivate them. I don’t mean the pity attention. I mean the definition of friendship- the give and take aspect of supporting someone through a not-so-apparent life event. It’s really unfortunate because I thought that it would be like Camp Sunshine, but the world isn’t always cheerful like that. Sunny, Chip Chip and Loopy aren’t doing some funny dance and the three yellow doors aren’t inviting you in for a stress-free and loving week you feel you really need/ deserve. It was hard to get used to that, but we learn to adapt. So, here are my goals for next year:

  1. Make my own sunshine– I was using a dorm bathroom and it had a small note card taped to the door saying “keep your face to the sunshine and the shadows will fall behind you”. I almost took it with me, but realized that someone else might need to see this too. I need to keep the things that make me smile, and turn away from the darkness that drags me down.
  2. Letting things go– I have such a hard time letting things go. Any drama or issue is scrutinized and analyzed until every aspect is examined and all reactions are prepared for. I feel like I need to view it in every perspective to understand why people would act and react they way they did or do. But this year, after continuing this exhausting practice, I thought “why am I doing this? this isn’t worth it if people aren’t reciprocating in their efforts or caring about MY feelings”. I found this picture and realized that that’s what my theme was representing this whole time. Letting go of the outdated and holding on to the innovated. Oh, the subtle foreshadowings of life.

    Image

    I don’t know if you guys appreciate the irony of this picture and my blog layout as much as I do. 

  3. Start smelling the bullshit. Yup. I guess it sounds a bit cynical, but cancer has finally given me the backbone I always needed.
  4. Simplify. My closet, my things, my brain, my life.

My hope for 2014? More races and new adventures!

As for now, Alex and I are streaming the ball drop from my Burlington apartment. It’s 16 degrees out (and dropping) and the driveway/ back steps are an icey death trap, so we decided to have our own New Years party! Happy New Year everyone! Let’s make 2014 everything 2013 was not!

One thought on “The Final Hours of 2013

  1. Happy New year ! I hope next year you can stay longer and even put a tree up and celebrate a white christmas in maine. Here’s to 2014 and graduation in the spring! love always A linda

Leave a Reply

