Little Blue Pill

No, not that pill hahaha

Image

My blood tests from last week were good. I had a low level of TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone), but since I don’t have a thyroid and all cells associated with my thyroid are considered cancerous, we want them suppressed. Basically, in Taylor’s body thyroid= cancer. No thanks!

Isolation was.. isolating. haha I spent the first three days going between my room and my temporarily designated bathroom. I drank a whole gallon of water in less than 2 days! Wednesday I felt great, but Thursday… certain side effects were in full bloom (i’ll spare the details for you all). After that speed bump, I was just suffering from cabin fever and homework overdose.

Saturday morning was the first day of diet freedom! I got to pick my first meal and I’ll give you one guess what it was…

Image

PANCAKES!!!

During my “Taylor Time”, I discovered a geiger counter app… Yes, there are several geiger counter apps actually- I chose one with a review from a fellow thyroid cancer patient who said it worked. You point it at the object and it makes a weird ticking sound.

Image

It actually went off when I pointed it at myself or my paint can waste basket!! I think on a basic level it might actual work. Obviously, I’m skeptical on how precise it is- but still. What a world we live in! Where we can detect radiation levels on our phones!

Monday October 28: Nuclear Medical Scan. This scan determines how much I-131 is left and if it did its job. Its a long scan- took about an hour (thank goodness I brought my iPod with my book on it). First, they inject you with a tracer. This has a small amount of I-131 that goes through my body and highlights all the places the isotope remains in the body. They lay you down on a bed and take 4 pictures- each taking 10 minutes to get a complete image of that particular section of the body. I guess the first scan (of my head and neck) also picked up on something on my sweatshirt and I had to change into a johnny before we could redo that section. This gave me the opportunity to see the picture she took. Imagine you laid down on a black top and traced you with a thin grey piece of chalk. Then someone took a glow stick and dumped it RIGHT where your thyroid is. Thats what it looked like! I couldn’t see the others because she had already filled and saved them as soon as I sat up.

Image

It looks something like this, but my kidneys, bladder, intestine and remaining thyroid tissues are the things that are highlighted instead of bone.

Unlike my last Hospital escapade, I did sneak a picture of this contraption!

Image

The bed lifts up and moves forewords and backwards. The grey box moved down so it hovers a few inches from your body. Then you lay there and wait.

Now I’m waiting for a phone call to hear how the photos went- and packing! Off to the beautiful mountains of 802 tomorrow ❤

PS. Happy birthday to a VIP in my support group- thank you for being my teammate

Leave a Reply

