Serenity Now!

Namaste 

I decided to treat myself to a little yoga today downtown. I have done classes before at Gold’s Gym and stuff, but since my left arm is so tight, I decided to start back in a basic class.  It was fantastic! I really liked the intructor. She was like a young 30’s guru with the Lululemon ensemble, sanskrit tattoo, and the therapeutic voice. There were only 4 people in the class in this cute little yoga studio. Throughout the class she came around and rubbed each person’s back and sprayed some lavender aromatherapy on us. It was FANTASTIC! 

I had kind of a spiritual week. I think I might have mentioned that I’m taking a kind of intense class called “the sociology of end of life care”. Its a small discussion group that is discussion based. We read and talk about hospice and palliative care and helping people in their dying process holistically. Its so interesting to think about death and listen to other people’s thoughts and feelings. More importantly, its so eye-opening to hear how people see living and life. I have begun to really think about the people I want in my life and the things I plan on doing while I’m on this earth. I always feel a little more insightful about myself and my views on death- in a morbidly calming way I guess. 

“The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.”

Elisabeth Kubler- Ross

Since I’ve been focusing on my mind and body more this week (I went running twice!!) I’ve also come to a realization, and I’m going to just be truthful and say it: I’ve been harboring a lot of negative energy lately. There is an abundance of unnecessary stress and drama currently prevalent in my life, and until this week I never even noticed how much of a toll it was taking on my body! I just happen to stumble across this fantastic article! 12 things happy people do differently: 

  1. Express gratitude. When you appreciate what you have, what you have appreciates in value. So, be grateful for what you already have and it will make you even happier!
  2. Cultivate Optimism. People who think optimistically see the world with endless opportunities- especially in the face of adversity.
  3. Avoid over-thinking and social comparison. Comparing yourself to someone else can be poisonous. It can give an unhealthy sense of superiority or a horrible sense of worthlessness. If anything, compare yourself to an earlier version of yourself. Over- analyzing something can take away the simplistic meaning it really has and can ruin a good thing or wreak havoc on your mind to a point of insanity! This is something I do… a lot. 
  4. Practice acts of kindness. Performing acts of kindness releases serotonin in your brain. Helping others makes you feel better about yourself in a way that no material item ever could! (<3 camp sunshine!)
  5. Nurture social relationships. Real, meaningful relationships are the most fulfilling connections you can make. To make someone feel valued and challenged (and for them to do the same) adds so much more meaning to a lonesome existence. 
  6. Develop (healthy) strategies for coping. How you face times of trouble are what shape your character. Bad things happen to everyone, it just depends on your next move. 
  7. Learn to forgive. Harboring feelings of hatred is HORRIBLE for your well-being. Your mind doesn’t know the difference between past and present emotion. When you “hate” someone, and you’re continuously thinking about it, those negative emotions are toxic- both mentally and physically. So, even if it takes a while- forgive forgive forgive and then just let it GO
  8. Increase flow experiences. Live “in the moment” of the people you’re with, the task you’re doing or the place you’re in. Become one with the task at hand- let it consume you.
  9. Savor life’s joys. Sometimes, its really important to just slow down and fully enjoy the world as it is moving around you. When we neglect to appreciate, we rob the moment of it’s magic. 
  10. Commit to your goals. Being wholeheartedly dedicated to doing something comes fully-equipped with an ineffable force. Once you set goal, you have no choice but to reach it. Jump that hurdle! climb that mountain! 
  11. Practice spirituality. Whether its a religion or a moment of self-reflection, spirituality is recognizing that life is bigger than yourself. It enables us to connect to the source of all creation and embrace a connectedness with everything that exists in any way you choose practice. Ommmmm
  12. Take care of your body. Lacking in physical energy effects mental, emotional and spiritual energy will also suffer. I’m trying to get back into running- I totally notice a difference in my overall health since I’ve stopped!

I’ve been thinking about this list for the past week because I’ve started to notice these things come up in my daily life and I just thought I’d share with you all (because I love sharing!).

In other news… two other exciting events happen! 

First, my two best friends came up last weekend to visit! 

Image

Just another day with Kristin and John.. riding a carousel

The three of us had some much fun at the Shelburn museum! We walked around, looked at exhibits of random old stuff, and my dad even made a smoothie by peddling on a bike with a blender attached! It will always be a really fun memory I can share with my parents (maybe next time Charlie can be there too- and Merlin!) For my birthday I got a lot of flowers and candy! It was such a fun weekend! Thank you everyone for your gifts and warm wishes! 

Image

Second, welcome to the world, baby Owen! Congrats to the Norfolk clan!  And only 3 hours away from sharing a birthday with me!

I’m currently on a see-food diet- pretty much anything goes. Monday starts the actual pre-treatment diet and I’ll update you guys then. For now… I think maybe I’ll explore some of the bars now that I can… 

Image

$4 mojito Wednesdays! This one is pomegranate flavor… yuuummmmmm

Everyone goes through their own struggles in life. I’d like to think of myself as a warrior, not a survivor. I’m not just surviving- I’m fighting. And I’ll keep fighting until the day I die. 

Me

Leave a Reply

