Back To The Future

Heyo!

I’m just sitting here in the kitchen knitting and thinking. Now that I’m feeling better (except for this nasty cold I currently have), I guess it’s time to start thinking for “Life After College”- eeek! I don’t want to think about it! It’s funny, I feel like I’m just starting to understand how this whole college thing works and BAM! It’s almost over! 

Besides the whole inconvenient cancer thing- senior year hasn’t really begun to blossom like I hope it would. I have no solidified plans after I receive my diploma. I’d like to stay up here and maybe get a job, hang out, a night course- who knows! I’ve been reading my friend’s blog and I am so jealous! If I could get my act together to go travel the world, I would! 

I know I joke around about my cancer, and although I’m on the quick road to recovery, I thought I’d share some interesting facts about Thyroid Cancer: an estimated 60,220 new cases of thyroid cancer are expected to be diagnosed in 2013 in the US, with 3 in 4 cases occurring in women. The incidence rate of thyroid cancer has been increasing sharply since the mid-1990s, and it is currently the fastest growing cancer. Unlike most other adult cancers, for which older age increases risk, 80% of newly diagnosed thyroid cancer patients are under 65 years of age. The first choice of treatment is surgery in nearly all cases. Total or partial removal of the thyroid gland (thyroidectomy), with or without lymph node removal, is recommended for most patients. Treatment with radioactive iodine (I-131) after surgery to destroy any remaining thyroid tissue may be recommended for more advanced disease (which is now pretty standard post treatment). Hormone therapy is given after thyroidectomy to replace hormones normally produced by the thyroid gland and to prevent the body from making thyroid-stimulating hormone, decreasing the likelihood of recurrence.

About 31% of the world is suffering from some sort of cancer- 41% of Americans are predicted to be diagnosed with cancer in their lifetime. Scary huh? Unfortunately, its a reality many face. 

The reason why I am posting this is because a lot of people get cancer- but a lot of these people beat it. Too bad this doesn’t mean you a “get out of death free” card. 

Don’t worry people, I’m fine. I just wanted to share some facts I found while I was reading my friend’s blog and thinking about things other than homework- like my future haha.

Now back to my boring textbooks and the ridiculous amount of yarn I have!

Leave a Reply

