Prologue

Hey there!

My name is Taylor. I’ll be a senior in college this year with a Sociology major and a Psych minor. August 10th, 2013 I was diagnosed with Thyroid Cancer.

Now, if your someone I know (maybe even hearing about this for the first time) don’t be upset! I was just as shocked when I found out!

I decided to start this blog because I don’t personally know anyone whose been in the same situation. I’m hoping I can help anyone who finds themselves in the same boat someday.

First off, let me tell you- informing people that you have cancer is a really awkward procedure. As of now, it’s just this big ambiguous cancer cloud floating above my head. Everyone takes it differently. My mom has begun her “retail therapy” with me (and who doesn’t love free clothes), friends have cried, neighbors have tried to make it sound like a “quick fix” and others have laughed at my inappropriately timed cancer jokes.

Image

Got all new gear for the winter season! Thanks mom and dad!

I’ll admit that I am a bit scared. Cancer of any kind is a weird concept. My own body made this. My brother so bluntly put it, “you have to kill part of your body in order to get better. This isn’t just something you can take meds for and wait for it to go away on its own”. And he’s right. That’s why its scary! However, I pride myself on being an optimist in most situations- and this one is no different. My mantra is “I will plan my cancer around my life, not my life around my cancer”. My doctors have been great too! I’ve told them more than once that I will be attending my first week of classes and they are doing their best to make the goal possible.

Lets do this!!

One thought on “Prologue

  1. Taylor – Love your spirit and love your Blog…You go girl and know that all of us are out there cheering you on… The Morgan team is at your side anytime you need us!! Hugs – Nancy

Leave a Reply

